Showing posts with label Photoshop. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Photoshop. Show all posts

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Clean Navigation Bar

In this tutorial you'll learn how to create a clean navigation bar.
Result:
  1. Open up a new document 800x150 pixels.
  2. Create a new layer by pressing Shift+Ctrl+N or by going to Layer > New > Layer.
  3. Set your background color to black (#000000) and your foreground color to #424242.
  4. Select the Rounded Rectangle Tool and set the radius to 5 px. Draw a shape like this:
  5. Right-click on the shape and click on Make Selection. Set the feather radius to 0 px and press OK.
  6. Select the Gradient Tool and fill the selection with a gradient from top to bottom. Deselect.
  7. Double-click on the layer to bring up the blending option and use these settings:
  8. You are basically done, now just add some text. I used Verdana 12 pt and the color #c9c9c9. Final result:
Read More...

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Photoshop: Blue Navigation Bar

In this tutorial you'll learn how to create a simple blue navigation bar.
This is the result:
  1. Open a new document 700x150 pixels and fill the background with #1a1a1a.
  2. Create a new layer and select the Rectangular Marquee Tool and use these settings:
  3. Make a selection like this:
  4. Select #2575c4 as your foreground color and #1f5f9f as your background color, then grab the Gradient Tool. Fill the selection with a gradient from top to bottom.
  5. Create a new layer and then select the Rectangular Marquee Tool. Use the same settings as before but change the height to 25px. Now make a selection of the top half of the navigation bar.
  6. Fill the selection with white and then change the opacity of the layer to 5%.
  7. Create a new layer and select the Pencil Tool with a diameter of 1 px. Select #133c64 as your foreground color and then draw a line like the image show:
  8. Now draw a line next to it with the color #2d8be8.
  9. Duplicate and move the layer several times so you get this:
  10. Now you are almost done. Just add some text to the buttons, I used the font Verdana. Result:
Read More...

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Photoshop: Selective Color

In this tutorial you will learn how to keep certain objects colored while turning the rest of the image black and white.
Final result:

  1. Open the image. I used this image:
  2. Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Black & White.
    Press OK twice.
  3. Now you have to select the parts of the image that you want to keep colored. I wanted to keep the color of the butterfly and I used the pen tool to select it, but you can use any method.
  4. Fill the selection with black.
  5. If there are any mistakes where the color has gotten outside of the object or if the object has been turned black and white you can correct that. Grab the brush tool and paint the areas that you want to colorize with black. Paint the areas that you want to turn black and white with white.
You're done! Final result:
Read More...

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Photoshop: A4 Paper

This is the result of this tutorial:


I'm using Photoshop CS3
  1. Open up a new document 600x600 pixels.
  2. Create a new layer and fill it with white.
  3. Go to Layer > Layer Style > Blending Options (or double-click the layer). Use these settings:
  4. Create a new layer. Select the Rectangular Marquee Tool and use these settings:(This is the ratio of an a4 paper, if you'd like to create a different shape use style: normal)
  5. Make a selection like this:
  6. Fill the selection with #f8f8f8
  7. Now we're going to add some texture to the paper. Go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise and use the following settings:
  8. Layer > Layer Style > Blending Options:
  9. Change the opacity of the layer to 90-95%. You're done!
This is my final image (I just duplicated and rotated the layer):

Read More...

Thursday, January 8, 2009

Photoshop: Custom Brushes

In this tutorial I'll show you how to create custom brushes.
I'm using Photoshop CS3.



  1. Open the image you want to turn into a brush, it can be a photo or a simple shape it doesn't matter. I'm using this leaf that I found at www.freeimages.co.uk.
  2. Select the area of the image that you want to turn into a brush. Like this:
    (I used the Rectangular Marquee Tool)
  3. Go to Edit > Define Brush Preset. Name the brush to something descriptive, I named mine "leaf".
  4. Select the brush tool by clicking B or by selecting it in the toolbox. Now you should be able to see your new brush if you click on the little arrow next to the brush thumbnail.
  5. You can use your brush any way, this is an image I created with mine:

Read More...

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Photoshop: Change the Color of a Car

In this tutorial you'll learn how to change the color of a car.

I'm using Photoshop CS3.
  1. Open the picture you want to edit.
  2. Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Hue/Saturation...
    Press OK twice.
  3. Fill the adjustment layer with black. The areas of the adjustment layer that is white is affected by the color, the areas which are black are not.
  4. Now you'll have to select the areas of the car that you want to color. I used the pen tool but you can use any method. Select the adjustment layer and fill the selection with white.
    This is my selection:
  5. There are some problems with this selection. There are things inside the selection that i don't want to change the color of. To solve this i select these items and fill them with black (on the adjustment layer).
  6. Now double-click on the adjustment layer's icon (the one with the slider) and the Hue/Saturation box should pop up. Check Colorize. Now you can change the color of the car by sliding the Hue, Saturation and Lightness sliders. When you're done press OK.
  7. Often there are mistakes where the old color still shows, to correct this grab the brush tool and paint white on these areas

    On this image you can see some of the red:
    Fixed:
You're done! This is my final result:

Read More...